Pathway Pioneers Continue to Lead the Way

Congratulations to the project staff and participating teachers and administrators of the Nevada Pathway Project for winning the John I. Wilson Leadership for Learning award.  Read the press release by clicking here.

The Nevada Pathway Project concluded this year. Over 100 Nevada middle school teachers have significantly changed their practice and increased student engagement by integrating 21st Century skills and technology tools into their classroom. Teachers in every county completed over 180 hours of online professional development from December 2009-May 2011. The rigorous and continuous facilitated program included 21st Century Skills, Web 2.0 tools, the TPACK model, website creation, collaborative projects and managing a classroom with technology. Teachers indicated that the high quality of the professional development continued to stretch them outside of their comfort zone to learn effective strategies for engaging their students and creating self-directed, student centered classrooms.  Funding is continually being sought to continue this project in more Nevada classrooms.

Modified versions of the professional development courses will be available to all Nevada teachers in the Fall of 2011.  More information will be available soon.

Visit the Nevada Pathway Project website:

Participating Washoe County teachers and administrators:

School Teachers Administrators
Clayton Misha Miller, Tony Fillichia, Michelle Habdas Tiffany McMaster
Depoali Kit McCormick, Leanne Weinhold, Karen Decker Juliana Annand
Pine Laurie Line, Athena Klock Arch Ruth
Shaw Jennifer Patetta, Vallarie Larson Gina Leonhard
Sparks Tina Holland, Kristie Parker Andrew Yoxsimer
Traner Tammy Nechita, Mary Keller Raegan Virgil


This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Comments are closed.